LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Reliability?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-15, 08:53 AM
Nguyenrrr
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reliability?

Hi, im fairly new to the ls models. I used to own a 2nd gen gs300, sold it to get a 2013 accord.
I'm interested in purchasing another lexus, the ls400. My question is how reliable are they? I hear they can go well over 200+k miles. But id want to know how reliable their suspension/lighting/transmission hold when they hit high mileage?
Old 02-05-15, 12:21 PM
dicer
Lead Lap

Received 97 Likes on 89 Posts

I think suspension is the least reliable thing on these cars. Gen 1's Moon roof and trunk leaks are not fun.
Engine can become a leaker, transmissions can go 300k plus. Power steering problems. Others say the newer ones are better so Lexus must have fixed some of the problems on them, though a good search will turn up lots of suspension problems even up to the 460's. LS suspensions just don't last long. Its kind of disappointing for what was a very very costly car at the time to have these problems so soon in life.
Old 02-05-15, 06:28 PM
YoshiMan
Racer

Received 92 Likes on 84 Posts

I would go out to just simply say that these are some of, if not THE most reliable cars ever built. Yes, they are not perfect by any means, but judging from how neglected mine was when i first purchased it, and how well it cleaned up, I am totally sold on always owning an LS from here forwards.
Old 02-05-15, 08:33 PM
sam12345
Lexus Champion

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

The ls400 is the world's 5th most reliable car with more than 100k miles. The lx, landcruiser, and 4Runner are in essence the same truck. I have one and they are very good. Toyota rules

Top 10 Quality Index Rating

Toyota Land Cruiser

Lexus LX

Toyota 4Runner

Ford E250

Lexus LS

Toyota Sequoia

Toyota Avalon

Lexus GX

Ford Excursion

Toyota Highlander

http://tradeinqualityindex.com/