LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Does Over Tightening Engine Bolts Matter

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-13, 02:13 PM
w1ayne
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Does Over Tightening Engine Bolts Matter

I just had the water pump (it was getting noisy) and timing belt on my 91 LS400 (131,000 miles) changed at Lexus of Marin, CA. I am a very good mechanic but being 78 I thought I desired a break to save my back.

When I got the car back the high tension cord grommet on the LH #3 timing belt cover had not been fitted back (it is hard to get in place). Of the 4 cap screws holding this cover on the lower one was just set in it hole, not tightened. Also, the large clamp around the accordion rubber air flow pipe was loose.

Using a torque wrench, all the nuts and bolts that I could reach, which were involved in the repair, were over-tightened 64% and more, as the upper limit of the torque wrench was reached (I bought the wench just for this test, having never owned one). I have to assume that all the bolts and nuts in the repair are over-tighten. What future problems might this cause ( there appears to be none right now)? Down the line will the thin water pump case distort and the mating surfaces leak?
Old 04-23-13, 06:01 PM
LScowboyLS
Lexus Champion

Received 81 Likes on 39 Posts

you really cannot tell the previous torque of a bolt by using a torque wrench, as the torque it takes to break it free is far more than it was torqued down with (straight forward physics)

while a torque wrench should ideally be used on pretty much every bolt on the car, on the vast majority of engine bolts, too much torque is mostly only a risk of shearing the bolt off, some exceptions would be: head bolts, valve covers, transmission and oil pan (where a flange sealing surface can become distorted)