LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Shredded the insulation off of the wiring harness in the driver side wheel well

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-13, 03:41 AM
mikepayne
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shredded the insulation off of the wiring harness in the driver side wheel well

As the title states I had a mishap with a cheap wheel in my 94 LS. I'm a rookie to this forum and this is my first post which makes me hope you guys can help out, as I've seen lots of great info floating around here from members like PD when I'm out searching around.

Back to my problem had a wheel break in two (****ty scenario) in the moment it took my car to stop a few wires (15) were stripped from their insulation. Causing a fairly big short, and blowing a handful of fuses as well as disconnecting the ground from the negative terminal of the battery. I've spent the past week trying to run my head around the issue and searching my *** off (possibly not searching the obvious) my car gets no spark which I don't know why, my fuel pump is getting no power (thought it was the fp ecu swapped it still nothing) my engine control is getting power on a handful of pinouts but when ignition is turned to on no check engine light (not burnt out already checked) I also looked over the ecu took the plates off for inspection no burn marks and didn't smell like it got hot, just checked the harness where it rubbed, yet again and there are no breaks in the wires so i shrink wrapped them instead of tape and I replaced all fuses that blew but still no spark no fuel. The car cranks just fine but wont wake up. I think a relay or two can be the culprit but when the ignition is on I definitely hear them up front. If this has been talked over a hundred times I apologize for my ignorance; I must have missed it but any help would be greatly appreciated, trying to get it running again before I ship out to basic.