LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1994 Ls400 starting /stallling issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-12, 02:16 PM
adrenelin5
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1994 Ls400 starting /stallling issues

I've been battling this thing for about 5 months now. Just when I think I got it figured out I realize I don't.

The symptoms are:

Car's starter either turns very quickly, very labored or sometimes just one click and does not turn over. Sometimes the one click issue just happens out of the blue but sometimes it happens just after the car has stalled while out driving.

Since I 've owned the car it has always either been intermittent in it's labored/fast start but only later developed the one click issue. I thought it was the battery but I no longer think this to be the case.

6 months back before the one click thing began I was out for a drive and the car stalled. I tried to start the car repeatly. I turned over fine but no dice. I towed it home and replaced the fuel pump. I then tried starting it but it wouldn't. My father in law checked to see if there was power at the fuse responsible for the EFI/starter and found the power to be intermittent. He pushed and pulled at the fuse and relays and everything in there and the car started. We figured it was a loose connection of some sort in the fuse box. The problem went away for a short period.

I then began to have the same issues and put some dialetric grease on the efi relay and that seemed to have a positive effect for a while but starting stalling issues returned. I replaced the EFI relay and that seemed to help. Never had a stalling issue for months.