LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Choking, Struggling, Rough Like Diesel

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-12, 07:16 PM
RobTek88
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choking, Struggling, Rough Like Diesel

My 94 LS400 started to run really rough and sluggish. Wouldn't get over 35 and was choking terribly. 2 days after this I changed out the Fuel Filter on the car.

The Car will turn over, but it will Not catch.

Is there a way to prime the fuel lines?
Any other possibilities of the problem?

Any and all information would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-30-12, 08:27 PM
PureDrifter
BahHumBug

Received 94 Likes on 86 Posts

why did you immediately check the fuel system but not the ignition system?
Old 11-30-12, 08:55 PM
RobTek88
Driver School Candidate

Have not had any troubles with the ignition.

(I am not a mechanic in any way)

Describing the problem to many people that know far more about cars then myself, have all said Fuel Filter.
Old 11-30-12, 08:58 PM
SC400slide
In Recovery Mode

Received 33 Likes on 27 Posts

Sounds like a main something or computer. I'd go with the ECU. Or what fixed LSCowboyLS' problem, leaking ECU capacitors. And yea, sound's too extreme to be anything fuel. I'd go main stuff. GL.
Old 11-30-12, 10:56 PM
cobalt91
Lead Lap

How many miles? Have the maintence intervals been done? Need more info.
Old 11-30-12, 10:56 PM
LScowboyLS
Lexus Champion

Received 81 Likes on 39 Posts

yes, this sounds like exactly what my 96 LS was like, and it drove me crazy trying to find the problem, until it dawned on me that it was the ECU capacitors

I would bet $100 that this is the problem with your car, I recognize the not going over 35 (try manually shifting each gear and you can go faster) and the choking, poor acceleration, rough running.

and fuel filters tend NOT to be a problem on LS400, it's as if they have a lifetime fuel filter