LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Potential LS(95) buyer, anti-theft quest, searched

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-12, 01:08 AM
NetG
Driver

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Potential LS(95) buyer, anti-theft quest, searched

Greetings everyone, I'd like to start by saying I'm a former Toyota mechanic and have a little familiarity with the Lexus line, however I was not sure what sort of anti-theft system the earlier models have. It was the later model LS400's with VVT-I have the transponder I believe? I'm assuming the 94+ models have some sort of anti-theft that is more than just the steering/wheel lock and radio code...but I don't know

I am looking at buying a 95 LS400, for some reason the seller says it has the front of a 99. From the pictures I have seen it appears to be sitting at a mechanics shop.

I would like to apologize also for the lack of info...but this is literally all the guy listed...

"This car dose not run !!!!!!!!!
Due to the antitheft system!!!

It is a 95 ls400

But it has a 99 model front end"

That's all they say, I have emailed them and asked if the car turns over or just spins without firing. I have also asked why it has a "99 front" and if it's simply cosmetic or does it ACTUALLY have the front from a 99. That was yesterday so I'm giving them another day before I try again or move on.

I would love to get this car and find out it's a simple fix (car is in good condition otherwise) but as I am not clear what ant-theft system I MIGHT be dealing with, I have no way to judge if it's something I can fix cheaply and easily.