LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Newbie Here, need help with my 1996 LS

Old 11-16-11, 08:27 PM
shirkes330
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Here, need help with my 1996 LS

So I'll probably catch flack for making a new thread but I can't find any info? I have 96 ebony teal pearl ls and it's my restore vehicle aside from a few problems ( strut rods, weird gas smell when running, and a possessed radio) its a really decent car. I'm replacing the head unit and purchased a double DIN kit on eBay but I need to know what wiring kit I need to install my radio. Also if any one knows anything about the gas smell its only after the car has run for a little while it just smells like gas and exhaust. When I go over bumps and apply the brakes I get a clunking in the front of the engine compartment? Is this a serious issue? Can someone please help me? Thanks!
Old 11-17-11, 05:46 AM
deanshark
Pole Position

Received 312 Likes on 269 Posts

Your gas smell sounds like maybe an O2 sensor is bad b/c you say the smell is gas/exhaust. Did you get it checked for codes? Even if the light isn't on you might have something stored. The clunk sounds like the strut rod bushings are shot. (common issue) I know there's a harness to use for the new head unit but I'm not sure which one b/c I've never changed my radio. (actually, I don't even use it) Try looking, or asking, in the audio section. I know it's been talked about many, many times so if you search some more you should find it.
Old 11-17-11, 06:11 AM
shirkes330
Rookie

Originally Posted by deanshark