LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1993 Lexus LS 400 Hard to start and dies when you give it gas

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-11, 12:26 PM
mklaah
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 Lexus LS 400 Hard to start and dies when you give it gas

I just bought this clean 1993 LS with only 37,500 miles. Thats right, not a mis-type. I am having trouble starting it and keeping it on when idel. I have to give it alittle gas. When i put it on drive and go i have to be easy on the gas and gradually speed it up. This car was very well taken care of. I am not a professional mechanic, i am more like a back yard mechanice. I know i dont want to buy random parts and start putting them on to fix the prob.
Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks
Old 08-28-11, 07:31 PM
LEXTEK1
Rookie

Check Engine Light?
Old 08-29-11, 06:50 AM
mklaah
Driver School Candidate

Yes check engine light comes on.
I think its bad fuel. I changed the fuel filter and it stayed on with minimal help from the gas pedal. If i give it too much it wants to die though. I have also order the fuel pump and another filter since i did not dump the old gas.
When i changed the first fuel filter it was nasty and dark brown gas came out. So I hope that is all that is wrong with it.
It runs good at times. Then it runs rough like it wants to die. I think that is when it gets that bad gas.

I tired to get the check engine code but can not do it. I went to lexls.com and did what it told me but couldnt make it blink for me.
Old 08-30-11, 09:15 AM
Skynet27
Driver School Candidate