LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1994 LS 400 - Cost of maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-08, 10:39 PM
Wadeisabea
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1994 LS 400 - Cost of maintenance

I'm new to lexus and don't know much about what regular maintenance I need to keep up with. I found a 1994 LS 400 with 121k miles at a fairly good price. I'm still waiting for someone to give me a carfax on it(hasn't responded to email yet). IF everything checks out ok I will contact the Lexus dealer and see what maintenance has already been done. Can I get that information over the phone or do I actually have to take the car in?

Now I'm just a little worried about the cost of maintence. I know the motor/transmission won't have too many problems, but what about other stuff? How much do parts cost and how difficult is it to work on? My dad has done most of the work on my accord, and on a 95 saturn.

What regular maintence is required? What kind of oil should be used? How much should I expect in maintenance costs a year?
Old 03-25-08, 01:26 AM
bigste
Driver School Candidate

You ask a lot of questions which could all be answered by browsing the forum for a couple of hours. If you are diy then it shouldn't be a problem. The sort of things that cost money by the sack full are timing belt, unless you diy but it's a very long job. Broken timing belts don't usually damage the engine on pre 97 cars. Steering rack is pricey. Other stuff is not so bad and generally Lexus are bullet proof. They have a few quirks like the dashboard and LCD's, power steering pump, upper control arms etc. Once the quirks are sorted Lexus LS's are pretty reliable. Most use at least semi synthetic but the tranny needs Toyota type 4 and won't like anything else. Most of our members do like to use OEM parts when possible and things like pads and belts are quite reasonable.
Old 03-25-08, 02:03 AM
Neofate
Lexus Test Driver