LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Considering LS- Your Opinion Appreciated Greatly

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-07, 03:31 PM
grady ins.
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering LS- Your Opinion Appreciated Greatly

Hello, this is the 2nd thread i've posted on this board. A few months back I posted about a 92 LS400 that I thought I would buy, but it needed engine work (blown head gaskets, oil pressure problems,etc.). So, I decided against it, but am still considering a Lexus. I am an insurance agent, and drive around 600 miles a week on business. I currently have 3 cars that I use for business, a 1994 Cadillac Concours (a deville with the northstar engine), a 1994 Lincoln Town Car, and a 1986 Mercedes 560SEL. I will be replacing at least one of these cars very soon, due to the fact that they all have over 150k miles (as I understand it, 150 on a LS is very low mileage, but on these cars, its where things start to break right and left), and I've had them for many years now. I am considering adding a LS to my lineup. I budget a large portion of my income to gasoline bills, , so I realize that the LS only gets around 20mpg. I am 6'2 and like to have a roomy car. I also spend at least 2 hours per day in my car, so it has to be comfy. I am good friends with a mechanic, who happens to specialize in Toyota products (drives a 94 camry with 250k on the clock), and he recommends Lexus. I don't think I want another Cadilllac (Northstar is just too much worry, I check my anti-freeze 3 times a week, change oil every 2k miles, and have gone 192k miles without any engine problems, yet.). I like my lincoln, but not good enough to buy another one. I love my old Mercedes, but it is a lot to keep on the road, and every month it is another 200.00 on this, 400.00 on that. I understand that the 92-99 generation of S-Class Mercedes is way more troublesome than mine. To be completely honest, I've neve