LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Thinking of buying a '96 LS400

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-05, 08:44 AM
dnelmo
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking of buying a '96 LS400

Good morning:

My brother-in-law is wanting to sell his '96 LS400 and will sell it to me for $8,000. The car has been meticulously maintained (he is a diesel mechanic by trade). I feel that the price is right but what I want to know is how user serviceable are these cars?

I'm a better than average "shade-tree" mechanic and I do not want to go to the dealer for all maintenance items (in the interest of time and money). The car has 82,000 miles. The 90,000 mile service for this car includes the following:

new timing belt, brake fluid flush, coolant flush, oil and filter change, air filter change, AC cabin air filter change, coolant flush, brake fluid flush, change spark plugs, balance and rotate tires, new wiper blade inserts. I called the local Lexus service department this morning and everything in the 90K service runs $1151.71.

With the exception of the timing belt, brake fluid flush, and balancing the tires, surely I can take care of most of the maintenance. Are the spark plugs, air filters and other basic maintenance items easily accessible on this car? I can have Lexus (or another mechanic) change out the timing belt and perform the brake fluid flush, but shouldn't I be able to take care of the other service items?

What kind of work do you do on your own cars? Also what kind of fuel mileage do you get out of your car?

I appreciate any feedback/experience you can provide,

dnelmo
Old 04-11-05, 10:55 AM
Strida
Rookie

Are the spark plugs, air filters and other basic maintenance items easily accessible on this car? Yes it is. If you are mechanically inclined the LS400 willo not be that bad specially you will have a mechanic do the timing belt everything will be fine.