Lighting A place to ask questions about HIDs & other Lexus lights

'95 Lexus ES300 Retrofit questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-08, 10:22 AM
shaddow
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question '95 Lexus ES300 Retrofit questions

Ok, I'm a total noob when it comes to HID lighting, but I've been doing lots of reading these past few weeks, signed up on several sites, and I *think* I'm starting to piece everything together. This website has been very informative, but I'm still not 100% sure I've got it all worked out, and figured I'd ask instead of buying all the wrong parts.

Since the ES300 is my daily driver, I've decided to purchase a new set of headlamps to work on the retrofitting in my spare time so I can still use my car when need be.

So to start I plan to purchase these JDM OEM Windom headlights. They are much cleaner looking than the US headlamps.

vs.

It is my understanding that I will need to replace the OEM projector from this lens to something suited for HID lighting, and I'm thinking about going with these E46 HID Projectors:

Next thing would be the ballasts and bulbs, and I was looking at these Hella LVQ-212 G3 Ballasts.

They come with Phillips bulbs, but I'm not sure about the kelvin rating (still waiting on a response from the seller). If they are 6000k I will probably sell them and purchase a set of 5000k bulbs such as these instead.

One of the connectors on the ballasts is a little beat up

so I planned to purchase these adapters to replace it.

Now, if I did my homework correctly, this should all work... Right? Am I missing anything? Am I going about this the wrong way? Would there be an easier, or more cost effective way to go about this? Or different parts that you would recommend I use instead of anything I've listed?