IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Buying IS-F: Anyone recognize this car?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-18, 03:44 PM
zpletcher
Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by CleanSC
Good thoughts. I am paying cash. And as a master tech I have no issue with a car that needs work. If it needs the valley plate, I'll do it myself. Rather not do it, but I will if it comes to it. This would be a 3rd play car for me so downtime is fine ordering new injectors and seals, heh.

I hear you on the owners. That's one thing I found strange. The car has had six owners at least. Suspiciously sounds like it has some expensive issue and no one wants to address it. Valley plate? Bad motor? And it's been to an auction once. What dealer sends an IS-F to an auction? Perhaps further indicates some sort of issue.

Next week I'm going on vacation to the area where this car is, totally by coincidence. It would be about an hour out from our hotel. I had figured I have a look, and if it's good, we'll make arrangements afterwards. He's got a lien on the car so I can't take it right there which is probably a good thing haha. Maybe first I'll see how flexible he is on price. If he won't consider $20k, I likely won't even bother going to see it.

Side note: I am cross shopping Porsche Caymans as well. Tho leaning IS-F as I'm a Toyota guy since my first car. However, I test drove a Cayman, and I got HOOKED. Wow. What a ride. Those flat sixes are just heavenly. First gen Caymans are easy to work on and real simple machines. However if you get one with a bad motor, it's over. Never less than 10k for a rebuild, provided your core is rebuildable. Fun fact: the Porsche engine computers have an overrev counter, where you can see how many times the car was redlined, how far past the red it's gone each time, and when it happened. Overrevs are pretty much the only abuse these engines don't take too well. Saved my butt on one car I was looking at.