IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

JoeZ Intake With High Flow Apexi Filter VS OEM Review

Old 03-09-16, 08:32 PM
k20trick
Instructor

Received 57 Likes on 57 Posts
Default JoeZ Intake With High Flow Apexi Filter VS OEM Review

Hey CL,

So after a long time researching intakes and reading quite a few topics on aftermarket intakes vs stock, I decided to do a little bit of testing on my own. I know this topic has been posted everywhere on the forums, but some people say heat soak (yes the joez pipe gets hot, but so does the stock one so I dont know why this makes it any different) and some say -5 hp gain and others swear they gain 5 hp although that's probably not noticeable on this car which is probably true because when I swapped my oem intake for joez intake I didnt notice anything... I have been driving with a joez intake and apexi filter for a couple months now and here's what I can say right off the from experience:

1) As soon as the stock intake/filter was put back on, I immediately noticed the car was running much richer. It smelled like richer fumes around the car and tail pipe. Why? I dont know maybe it's from less airflow from using the stock intake. After a drive the smell was not there, maybe the ecu adjusted for it.

2) The throttle response, the gas pedal needed to be pressed much harder to get moving, with the joez intake/filter combo the pedal was much more sensitive/touchier meaning a slight press will jerk the car forward especially in sport mode, although it didnt necessarily feel faster, but it was definitely noticeable all accross the rev range and existent.

3) The sound, when I installed the intake/filter I did not notice a sound difference, but when I removed it, you definitely dont hear that airflow sound guess it really did make a difference and I liked it better with the intake as it was more throatier sounding like a true v8.