IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Time for new front brakes on my ISF

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-12, 07:56 AM
vudaddy
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Time for new front brakes on my ISF

Hello everyone I'm somewhat of a noob here. I've had my 08 ISF for about 6 months now. She had 31k miles when I bought her and now has about 40k. My mechanic noticed that it's almost time to get new pads and he thinks it'll be around $1000. When buying the F I did notice that there was plenty of meat left on the OEM pads but now see on CL that these don't last at all. Can anyone recommend pads or maybe pads/rotor setup that would be better as far as longevity? I've read posts about hawk and stoptech but haven't seem to find any on how long you've had them on for before replacing again. I'm just a daily aggressive driver no tracking or racing. I don't have any mods yet. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 05-20-12, 07:58 AM
vudaddy
Rookie

*edit: $1000 was to have new front pads and rotors
Please forgive me know if I don't have enough info
Old 05-20-12, 08:10 AM
DCoolBeans
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Complete Brake Thread

Search is your friend

If you don't track your car then I'm almost 100% your front rotors are still in good shape. Get them measured, 28mm or less then you need to replace them.
As for front pads, you can get some as cheap as 60 bux for the front set. If you can change your own pads tnen it'll be cheaper. If not any brake shop will do it for 100bux or less.
Old 05-20-12, 08:55 AM
ISFSteve
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The original pads are a nightmare with excessive dust so you will be far better off with a brand that does not create those issues. Much of it is a matter opinion on your final choice as during a search, you will find several good options. If you do replace the rotors now or down the road, I would not go for OEM there either. Same searching will give you good info.