IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

H-techs up front, stock springs in the rear. Any issues?

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-11, 08:03 PM
Fapout
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default H-techs up front, stock springs in the rear. Any issues?

I'm by no means an expert on spring rates and such so I wanted to get opinions on here. Long story short, I have 3 tein h-tech springs, two for up front, one for the rear. The front of my car is honestly what needs a drop and the wheel gap closed up, the rear is pretty snug as is. Can I just run the h-techs in the front and not worry about the rears?
Old 03-28-11, 08:12 PM
The UPS Store
Former Sponsor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just recently installed Swift Springs on my ISF. I took measurements before and after. The rears actually didn't drop at all only the front. Maybe after they settle a little bit more I'll see the drop. The front feels and looks great though. I believe the Swift is 9k front and 6k rear. The handling might be affected with Htechs in front and stock in the rears though.
Old 03-28-11, 09:00 PM
tenspeed
Lead Lap

I wouldn't try it on a road course but it might be ok on the street. Take your corners slow, there's a chance that the softer rear end might make it handle loose.
Old 03-28-11, 10:28 PM
UCrazyKid
Lexus Test Driver

Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts

I can not recommend the use of unmatched springs in the front and back. There are too many variables involved regarding handling dynamics. I wouldn't do it myself.
Old 03-28-11, 10:33 PM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 78 Likes on 60 Posts

Unless you are pushing your car to the limit (ie. tracking), then don't worry about the handling. There are many other factors that will influence handling.
Old 03-28-11, 11:38 PM
ShadowISF
Lexus Champion

I have Eibach springs on the front with stock suspension in the rear. No problems so far. But make sure you get an alignment. FIGS gave me this advice. Great guy.
Old 03-29-11, 03:49 AM