ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/)
-   IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-3rd-gen-2014-present-249/)
-   -   Track day void warranty? (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-3rd-gen-2014-present/916387-track-day-void-warranty.html)

SegFault 04-15-19 03:31 PM

Track day void warranty?

Hi everyone, recently got my 3is. I want to take it to track day, but it seems Toyota has a clause in their warranty that states that the following: "warranty does not cover failures from: your vehicle is vandalised, abused, raced or used in any other competition".

Wondering if anyone has experience regarding this.

Cheers!

wthrman2 04-15-19 04:54 PM

I am not a lawyer and an expert on the specific nature of the clause - full disclosure I don't race so that is not a concern to me however, the way I read the statement as you quoted it would suggest that if the racing causes a damage, that specific damage will not be covered under warranty....I am not sure it says that if you go racing that it automatically means that your warranty will be voided.

For example, if you go racing and somehow damage a front suspension component as a result, if they can demonstrate that you went racing and that that racing cause that part to fail, then it wouldn't be covered.

Now I could be TOTALLY wrong but that is how I seem to interpret it..

V350 04-15-19 09:25 PM

As above, I don't think a warranty can limit what you can or cannot do with your car, just that damage won't be covered. Get track day insurance. Your normal car insurance policy will NOT cover you at a race track. It's 2-300 for the day, but worth it for piece of mind you won't have to write off 40-50k.

twixx007 04-16-19 12:26 AM

See if the local track offers any kind of insurance for the day. I've driven my car on the Nuremberg Ring many times here in Germany and I've purchased track insurance from the local vendor here for the day.