Brand New IS300 AWD with a rattle

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-19, 02:02 PM
Desmoface
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Brand New IS300 AWD with a rattle

Greetings everyone,

I'm a Lexus newbie, and so far the ownership experience has started off a bit rocky. My wife picked up her new IS 300 AWD, and I have to say, it's quite an impressive little car. The honeymoon was to be short lived, however

She drove the car home, all of 14 miles, and it sits in the garage as my wife works from home. She starts it after a few days only to find the tire warning indicator on. Flat tire. So, I fill it up and check it the next morning only to find that it's slowly losing air. So, off to the dealer who informs me that we picked up a nail - I'm doubting that we picked it up, I suspect it was there when the car was delivered, but anything's possible, so I pay for a new tire to be installed, but what I didn't pay for is the rim to be scratched up.

At any rate, I notice a bit of a rattle when I exit the freeway...the wife notices it too, so back to the dealer, today, as a matter of fact. My Wife takes the service tech for a ride, and he notices it too...So, an hour or so later, the car is back in my Wife's hands, she drives home and it does appear that the rattle is gone. Until, she takes a short ride to the grocery store; it's not gone, and it appears that it rattles whenever she applies the brakes? Weird.

At any rate, she's all disenfranchised with the entire situation and is quickly losing faith in her brand new car.