ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/)
-   IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-2nd-gen-2006-2013-163/)
-   -   '06 IS350 Dash Replacement Help Needed (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-2nd-gen-2006-2013/886218-06-is350-dash-replacement-help-needed.html)

ColinPR 04-14-18 03:51 PM

'06 IS350 Dash Replacement Help Needed

I am new to this forum, joined today. I just bought a 2006 IS350 and the previous owner did not get the dash/panels done in time. I just bought a new dash from Lexus and was going to ATTEMPT to install it myself. I am not a mechanic, not by a long shot. I will be doing it in my garage. Not sure if this is a good idea or not? The dealership will do it for $390 plus tax, but I would love to try it myself. Any advice would be appreciated. Also if anyone can point me in the direction of some videos or anything that would give me help. I did find this https://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-...l-process.html but if someone has a link to a video or a different set of instructions I would really appreciate it.

lysis250 04-14-18 04:40 PM

I’ve done this with the help of a friend and we did it together in roughly 3 hours which included removing the dash out of the donor vehicle. It’s very simple and straight forward but if you have an extra set of hands to help you with the process definitely invite them over. Neither of us are mechanics either we just have basic knowledge of DIY around cars since we’ve been doing it for a while. We didn’t remove the steering wheel like the other thread stated which did complicate this a little but we were able to move the dash around it and take it out.

Nespo2330 04-14-18 04:42 PM

$390 for a professional install seems worth it to me. Did you also get the door panels, because those are simple in comparison

ColinPR 04-14-18 04:56 PM