2007 Is350 - Transmission Question - "MINOR" jerk / quite clunk

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-15, 06:06 PM
Dnveris350
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 Is350 - Transmission Question - "MINOR" jerk / quite clunk

Hello Everyone!

I had a quick question... I am new to Lexus and just purchased myself a 2007 IS350 RWD with 37k. I have had the car now for several months and have put about 4500 miles *( Currently 41k ). I noticed a weird noise one evening driving home... and this noise has been constant.

When the car is traveling over 30+ mph and coming to a complete stop ( normal driving - no sport mode / no paddle shift mode / no etc pwr mode) the car makes a MINOR jerk / quite clunk coming to a dead stop... feels like its trying to catch / go through gear to make it back to 1st gear. I have a feeling this was there from when I purchased the car and now started to pay close attention to the noise...and its making me super concerned.

I did take it into Lexus and had a master tech. who actually owns both the is250 & is350 both over 100k miles to go on a road test with me ... and he said the car was shifting normal & smooth... told me not to worry and I might just be a bit over paranoid. I have several cars and this is 1st time i have experienced this... none of the other cars are making this noise.

I was driving today and its still making the noise; go figure its bugging me... I wanted to see if anyone else had / has this issue and if there are any fixes?

or is this truly " NORMAL" ? Thanks in advance!

other then that I have fallen in love with the car.. I just hope its nothing crazy expensive or neglect from the previous owner.
Old 11-16-15, 10:43 AM
Schweebs
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by Dnveris350
Hello Everyone!