IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Possible ECU Remapping for IS250/350?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-13, 08:39 AM
UncleSpud
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flash Tuner for 2014 3.5 V6?

In the Ford Mustang aftermarket, there's a flash tuner you can buy for under $400 dollars that will give you 20+ RWHP. With the tuner comes 3 to 10 canned "tunes" that you can upload to your car's ECU via the OBD II port (which will adjust timing, mixture etc., to squeeze more HP/TQ out of the engine). The DIY procedure takes about 15 minutes, and the engine can be reflashed to stock settings at any time. Subaru also has a similar flash tuner as well, although the Cobb Tuning Accessport tuner is considerably more expensive.

Here's my question--is there a similar device for the 3.5 liter 6 in the IS 350? The 2014 350 could definitely use more HP/TQ. The motor's been around for a while (but I'm brand new to Toyota/Lexus), so I'm hopeful there's a hand-held tuner available in the aftermarket.

Thanks

Last edited by UncleSpud; 10-24-13 at 08:50 AM.
Old 10-24-13, 06:00 PM
Stitch626
Lexus Test Driver

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Sub'd for info on this as well...great question!
Old 10-24-13, 08:09 PM
Slash300zx
Instructor

Received 107 Likes on 52 Posts

No such thing, I don't think. In all the years of the 2IS, no one was really able to come out with any flash or remap that was actually successful hence why there really was no real big performance upgrades you could do to the IS... This is the same engine, not sure about the computer but most likely it is going to be about the same thing as the 2IS... plus, the car just came out so there is barely anything out there for it yet anyways.
Old 10-24-13, 08:14 PM
jdmSW20
Racer

Received 39 Likes on 33 Posts

i doubt that will ever happen. there is no reflash for any toyota ecu powered vehicle. not like the subaru/mitsubishi cars.