IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

'06 IS250 with 150K; carbon build-up?!? PLEASE HELP!

Old 07-14-12, 06:17 PM
JATLIFE
Driver School Candidate

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default '06 IS250 with 150K; carbon build-up?!? PLEASE HELP!

Hey guys (and gals), I read a ton about the carbon build up issue on the 250s in the thread here, but it seems like the majority of the problems occurred from 30K-70K. Mine ran flawlessly until close to 100K, when it would have the rough idle on startup... then it would occasionally do it at stop lights. I never thought much of it. It would happen once or twice a week, sometimes never. Around 100K is when I got my sparkplugs changed, and my mileage seemed to get worse... so, the MPG loss combined with the idling problem had me worried that the sparkplugs weren't done "right" (as you can tell I'm not very tech savvy WRT cars).

So about 6 months ago, I was exiting the freeway and at the light my car did the idle thing while stopped, the light goes green and as I'm turning my car is stuck at like 5K, wont shift, and all the engine lights and VSC lights come on. I go to the nearest light, turn it off, then turn it back on. The car seems to run fine, but I got the sparkplugs done immediately after. Ever since, I very rarely have any shakiness at idle, maybe once every month.

Soooooo... my car has 150K... what should I do, if anything? I use the Chevron fuel injector cleaner, get synthetic oil changes every 10K, use 87 octane ever since I bought the car brand new (yeah, I know some people are totally against this). Should I just ride it out or this a sign that I got lucky? Keep up with status quo? Increase the fuel injector cleaner (I pour the bottle in every 3-6 months) and/or up to 91 octane? I drive a ton of miles (25K a year), I'm at 150K, Car has been perfect for me other than the water pump going bad... and this. Thoughts? Any input would be greatly appreciated.