projector bowl dent

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-12, 11:05 PM
ihazabonar
Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default projector bowl dent

Hey all,

This would be my second retrofit for a vehicle, so I'm piecing together parts, one by one. I just picked up a set of TSX projectors for a great price, the drawback: They both have very small dents in the projector bowls. Now, knowing that the HID bulb will indeed reflect in the bowl, will this severely affect my cut off line or light output? If so, I thought of an idea of heat resistant aluminum foil tape that I could cut to exact size and place over the dented area, making a smooth transition inside the bowl. Would this work?

One more thing. What exactly do I need to get for the HID kit. I want to go 8000k with my TSX-R clear lenses, I know it's the D2S bulb. What do I need to get to hook the kit up to my stock wiring? Please provide a link to what I need to purchase. I'm new to the Lexus community but I'm familiar with searching (clubrsx). I just am confused about "AMP" and what "relay" to be using. Also, 55W or 35W. All or any help will be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 02-08-12, 12:26 AM
Jzsicklexi
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

In all honesty, I highly recommend going to HIDPlanet forums and there will be much more info there. There's only a handful of us who have retrofitted. But you can always get a bulb and try out your projectors before modding them to try and fix the dent. It's hard to tell how catostrophic the dent will be until you put light in there. I got the TSXR lenses out of preference, you don't need them. They just give a clearer more colorful cutoff. D2S plugs go into the back of a D2S bulb, amp plugs are the generic positive negative plugs that connect on plug and play HID kits. Also, you won't be happy with the light output of a 8000k, bluer but less useable light. Don't go over 6000 and use legit bulbs. Only run 55w ballast with a bulb set up to use the extra wattage right.