IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Much better sound through aux port using iPod line-out cord

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-11, 05:13 PM
calvin2376
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Much better sound through aux port using iPod line-out cord

Just wanted to write about my experience and give a tip to those out there suffering from poor sound quality. I'm new to the IS350 and new to an Aux-In port, so I just pulled out a regular 3.5mm to 3.5mm cord and played sound through the headphone jack on my iPhone. The sound was OK, but I got a little static and almost no bass response.

Then I stumbled across an article saying using the line-out on your iPod/iPhone (the dock connector, not the headphone jack) provides much better sound quality, so I picked up a line-out cord that goes from dock connector to 3.5mm (Aux-In port). The cord I got (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0031U1AU0) is actually a bonus because it allows charging while playing (this also gave me a good reason to go in and get the TSIB for aux/charging buzz or ground loop issue fixed under CPO warranty). These cords actually aren't too easy to find, and ones with good reviews are ever rarer.

I'm sure some of you already know this, but I just wanted to write to inform those who didn't. My sound quality is 10x better, with great bass response and a much better overall range. So if you're using your Aux-In port by using the headphone jack on your Apple product, definitely pick up one of these line-out cords.

Last edited by calvin2376; 02-28-11 at 05:29 PM.
Old 02-28-11, 05:21 PM
rL-gT
Lead Lap

Received 111 Likes on 61 Posts

Nice.

Also the 09+ Guys with USB in can plug their Ipod cables into that. Im currently using that and it gives me full control over my ipod. It does lag a little bit tho.
Old 02-28-11, 05:31 PM
calvin2376
Racer

Originally Posted by redline.gT
Nice.