IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

I'm a newbie that hates my 2010 IS250

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-11, 06:44 PM
642mx
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm a newbie that hates my 2010 IS250

Well, I don't exactly hate it...lol. But I have had some problems with it. I'm just wanting to see if anyone else has had these same problems.

At 2000 miles, the right rear tire blows out and takes the bumper out, inner fender, rocker panel, exhaust, and bends the quarter panel. The tire was found to be defective, so Lexus footed the bill. After rejecting the car twice from my lovely dealer, they got it right the third time. (<- very long story!)

At 5000 miles it starts black smoking and pulls to the left when braking hard. The exhaust tips are black, soot on the bumper, belches black smoke on hard acceleration. Back to the dealer and they "decarbonized it"... rotated the tires and changed the oil. I'm still not sure how it carboned up with 5K on it. The braking pull was blamed on uneven tire pressure.

At 6000 miles we notice the a-pillar cover didn't match the passenger side... it sticks out too far. Back to the dealer for a replacement, while it was there, I had them check the tire pressure and lug nut torque since we had a 1600 mile trip the next day. Tire pressure was at 46 psi... dealer blamed us, but I've never touched the car.

At 7000 miles I noticed a rim that the clear coat felt rough on... the dealer actually ordered one for me without seeing it.

Now at 9000 miles, all 4 tires are cupped on the outside edge. They are noisey and it looks like I'll be going back to the dealer for this... oh.. and the braking pull is back.

We bought the car last June, its my wifes daily driver. She loves the way it drives (the AWD is the shiznit in the snow), but I'm seriously considering trading it off.... its spent over a month of its life at the dealer!