Prospective New IS250/350 Owner with Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-10, 08:33 PM
JOYRIDER
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prospective New IS250/350 Owner with Questions

Hey all,

I'm new to Lexus, the IS lineup and this forum. I'm considering a used, automatic 2006-2009 IS 250 or 350 as my next vehicle and wanted to get the opinions of those that really mattered - the passionate owners here on this forum. I'll try to get the point as quickly as possible, but now you know up front what I'm looking for - your reviews, recommendations and warnings about this car. Beyond it's good looks, how does it drive, handle, etc?

SOME BACKGROUND:
Previous vehicles have included a Subaru WRX, Nissan 350Z, and a couple streetbikes (currently a Honda VFR800). 'Car guy' and motorsports lover through and through. Ideally I'd put a Nissan GTR in my garage, but that's a little outta the budget right now Ok, a lot.

ROLES FOR THE NEW LEXUS:
This car will have to serve 2 distinct purposes. 1) Family hauler for my wife and I, and our soon-to-be son as of April 2011. 4 doors, leather, room for a car seat, decent trunk and good safety features is all this really requires in my book. For now, at least. 2) Dad's luxurious yet sporty ride on days I choose to take it to work, weekends, special events, Cars and Coffee etc. My daily driver is a Honda Civic Hybrid due to my lovely 100 mile commute. Before you laugh, note that it gets me in the HOV lane and shaves 30 minutes as well as countless headaches off my commute, otherwise I certainly wouldn't be in a soul-less econobox. It replaced the Nissan 350Z because the yearly cost in gas, tires etc was killin me.

BUDGET:
$20 - 25k

MODIFICATIONS: