IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Question about leasing

Old 05-15-06, 11:43 AM
tragic22
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about leasing

Let me just say that I've never leased a car so I have no knowledge of how it works. Right now I'm interested in leasing an IS 250 for 36 months then possibly buying it at the end of my lease. The reason I'm doing this is because over the next couple years I dont want too high of a monthly payment because I'll need my money for other things I have going on but by the time the lease is up I should have plenty of money on the side. What i'm wondering is how exactly does it work when you lease and buy the car at the end of it?

I used the leasing calculator on the lexus website for this
Lets suppose the cost of the car is $33000
I put $5000 down which leaves me with $28000
I pay $389 /month for 36 months
After the 36 months I would have paid $14004 towards the car
So $28000 - $14004 = $13996

Supposing that I dont go over my mileage limit would all I have to pay at the end of the lease be the $13996 or is it more or less or what???? I really dont know how it works.
Old 05-15-06, 11:49 AM
conekiller
Lead Lap

Your monthly payment will be a bit higher because you pay taxes monthly (lease = glorified rental); if you decide to buy it out, you'll pay the residual + tax on the residual amount. When you sign a lease, they will tell you what the residual value will be at lease end since it's predetermined by your down payment, lease term, and money factor.

Most banks will offer you the opportunity to end the lease early (about six months early or so) and begin the loan then. If you opt for this, the residual will go up based on how many months you forgo on the remainder of the lease.
Old 05-15-06, 12:07 PM
tragic22
Rookie