Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX450H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX450H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other third generation RX models.

Shopping for used 450H and Towing

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-18, 04:53 PM
tfherbert
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shopping for used 450H and Towing

Hello,
I have been shopping online, looking for used 2011 or newer AWD 450H. My question is about pre-tow. I have been decoding VIN numbers for used Lexus and although features on the car don't list pre-tow package, the specs show towing capacity consistent with 450H with pre towing package. Do all 450H AWD's effectively have the pre-towing package or does the VIN decoder list generic specs?

Dead Weight Hitch - Max Trailer Wt.3500 lbs 3500.0 min 3500.0 max
Dead Weight Hitch - Max Tongue Wt.350 lbs 350.0 min 350.0 max
Wt Distributing Hitch - Max Trailer Wt.3500 lbs 3500.0 min 3500.0 max
Wt Distributing Hitch - Max Tongue Wt.350 lbs 350.0 min 350.0 max

The VIN I am decoding is JTJBC1BA2B2416003 from a car advertised online.
The VIN decoder I am using is on this forum, https://www.clublexus.com/forums/vin...inDecoderFarea

Thanks very much,
--Tom
1999 Benz 300D, 2002 Ford Ranger, 2006 Toyota Corolla, 1974 Saab 99EMS, 1967 Saab 96, etc...
Old 04-06-18, 05:56 PM
Htony
Lexus Champion

Received 133 Likes on 123 Posts

I used to tow many different camping trailers when kids young to go camping 4 seasons. I always maintained at least 10% safety margin from max. rating. Those ratings are when vehicle is really properly equipped.