Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX450H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX450H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other third generation RX models.

RX 450h EV Mode

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-14, 06:49 AM
oohpapi44
Lexus Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by websailor
I do the pulse mode all the time and agree that it works well. The few times that I've been able to do the whole bit - EV to start, slow acceleration above 25 mph to minimize the ICE from coming on, pulse mode by backing off the throttle and then "cruising" - the average mpg did jump up.

I think I've driven the RX450h in a number of different situations to get a good feel for how it operates, though I'm still learning.

It is my opinion (not yet based on any solid facts) that if I could manually engage a "don't use the ICE button", I could do even better than my current mpg. I think the current EV mode restrictions are a bit too "tight" and that using the grey matter in my head (a beautiful organic computer), I can manage the operation of this vehicle quite nicely.

Note that I also drive a completely non-computer driven stick-shift Toyota Tacoma truck from the 1990s and do quite nicely in it in regards to shifting, optimizing the engine load, etc. When I want cooling air without the A/C, I can roll the windows down. If I want intermittent wipers operation, I turn them on for a few seconds, and then off. When it gets dark out, I know it is time to turn on the headlights.

The RX is a nice contrast to it.

I guess I just like more control over my vehicle than the Lexus Engineers built into it.