Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX400H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX400H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other second generation RX models.

2008 400h - short drives enough to charge?

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-13, 11:44 AM
dembohns
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 400h - short drives enough to charge?

Hi! I am new to hybrid technology, and I have what may be a dumb question!

(Oh, and I joined the forums here yesterday because we've been looking at a 2006 RX330 with 78k miles, but while perusing the dealer's site today to check something on the 330, I found a 2008 400h with 48k miles and my eyes lit up!)

I drive about a mile each way every morning to take my daughter to school and then go back and pick her up in the afternoon. I might drive another three or four miles in an average day. Is that enough driving to keep the battery charged? I might drive a 10-mile stretch once a week or so, and rarely do more than that. Is it worth it to buy a hybrid for that kind of short to-and-fro driving?

It's CPO, which is a BIG plus over the 2006 RX330, which would only come with 3 month/3000 mile limited warranty. Of course, it's almost double the price, too... but I can almost justify that with better gas mileage, three years younger (the 400h was bought in March 2009), 30K fewer miles...

But if it's not suited to my type of driving, I'd rather know that right upfront!
Old 04-03-13, 01:26 PM
riwyle
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I would not worry about the battery. It will charge as needed. What you should realize is that you will get very poor mileage with that driving pattern you stated but you would also get poor mileage with the 330.. I doubt that the mileage difference would justify the additional cost of the vehicle but you may want to to buy it for other reasons.
Old 04-04-13, 12:11 AM
katzjamr
Driver