HS 250h Model (2010-2012)

Anti-lock brakes not working?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-15, 07:09 PM
Magellan55

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Anti-lock brakes not working?

It was raining today, and I think my front wheels locked up while attempting to stop at a traffic jam on the highway this morning. Pretty freaky to hit the brakes and hear screeching up front and the car sliding while doing 70. Luckily I had some space in front of me and didn't hit anyone. No indication that ABS was activated on the dashboard, and no pulses through the brake pedal. I've got over 30 years of experience driving both ABS and non-ABS cars in bad weather, and this definitely felt and sounded like the latter. This has happened to me before on snow / ice, and each time I took my HS into the dealer and they said everything is fine. My tires are decent Michelin MXM4's with plenty of tread left.

Anyone else have this happen to them? Does the ABS light come on when it activates for you? I get a traction control light when that activates when accelerating on slippery roads, but no ABS light. My ABS light does come on for a second or two when I start the car, so the light works.

Am I just going crazy, or is my dealer incompetent?
Old 09-29-15, 07:32 PM
TheAirman
Lead Lap

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

The light won't come on.

That's the thing about some ABS systems. You think the tires are locked up like the old days because you hear your tire screeching, but they aren't. They are right there on the edge, though.

The system is applying just enough pressure to stop the wheel from turning and giving you the maximum braking force, that's why you heard it squeal, ...BUT.... it also is releasing the pressure enough so you still have steering control.

You might of thought they were locked up, but if you had to whip the wheel and steer, it would have done it, unlike the pre-ABS days where you would have just skidded out of control.