GX - 2nd Gen (2010-2023) Discussion topics related to the 2010 + GX460 models

90k mile service advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-18, 01:48 PM
dstewart
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 90k mile service advice

My wife's GX460 is due for the 90k service. I've got a few options and looking for advice since I'm not very experienced doing maintenance myself. Most expensive option is to take it to my local independent lexus service guy who charges less than dealerships but I totally trust to do the service right and find any issues during the inspection. The next option would be to take it to a good friend of mine who owns a shop but mostly focuses on wheels and tires. I frequently take it to him for oil change and tire rotation because he gives me a good deal but haven't asked him to do more involved services.

So for those of you mechanically inclined, is this service one that I need to be sure to have an experienced mechanic who knows Lexus inside and out perform?

Below is what Lexus recommends for this service. Appreciate any feedback!

❑ Replace engine oil with 0W-20 oil; replace oil filter
❑ Lubricate drive shaft, re-torque nuts and bolts
❑ Replace cabin air filter
❑ Replace brake fluid
❑ Replace engine air filter
❑ Replace Smart Key battery
❑ Reset maintenance reminder light
❑ Rotate tires
❑ Visually inspect brake pads, calipers and rotors
❑ Check installation of driver’s floor mat
❑ Road-test vehicle
❑ Inspect the following: __Active height control system (if equipped) __Axle shaft boots __Ball joints and dust covers __Body __Brake lines and hoses __Brake rotor thickness and runout __Drive belt __Engine coolant (see page 70) __Exhaust pipes and mountings __Front differential oil __Fuel lines and connections, fuel tank band and fuel tank vapor vent system hoses __Fuel tank cap gasket __Rack-and-pinion assembly __Rear differential oil __Steering linkage and boots __Transfer case oil __Transmission for signs of leakage __Wiper blades