GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Bent Door check strap and bent window track

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-18, 08:41 AM
poseidon1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bent Door check strap and bent window track

We had some really gusty wind here a couple weeks ago and as I was getting out of my car the wind caught my drivers door and ripped it out of my hand and open hard. At the time I was annoyed and the door closed but then was hard to open again. Then I noticed my window wouldn't roll down more than half way.
I took the door apart yesterday and it looks like as a result the door check strap got bend outward at the tip and then during the door opening and closing caught on the window track and twisted it inward. This is my first time in the door and there is pretty limited access. Unfortunately, the window track appears to be welded in. On the plus side the window track is very thin material and I can flex it with my with just my hand.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Any advice on how to straighten the window track back out in this tiny space?

Last edited by poseidon1; 03-26-18 at 08:43 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 03-27-18, 04:55 AM
jonesmw10
Rookie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I would start with just replacing the door check. When I got my GX, mine was also bent and caused issues with the window going down (the window was hitting it). It also damaged my tint. Replacing the door check fixed all my issues.
Old 03-27-18, 01:51 PM
levinsoy
Driver

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by poseidon1
We had some really gusty wind here a couple weeks ago and as I was getting out of my car the wind caught my drivers door and ripped it out of my hand and open hard. At the time I was annoyed and the door closed but then was hard to open again. Then I noticed my window wouldn't roll down more than half way.