GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Choosing between 2005 & 2007 GX470

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-17, 07:17 PM
Ssd108
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choosing between 2005 & 2007 GX470

Good Evening folks,

Newbie here and this is my first post. Owned a 3rd gen ES (1998) many years ago along with same year V6 Accord. However, I don't remember sound proofing of the cabin having such a pronounced difference between the two. Have been driving a 2005 Honda Pilot since 2012 and put on a lot of highway miles - touching almost 300k miles now. Earlier this summer got a 1999 ES300 for my son for his first car and was amazed at the difference in driving experience between the Lexus and my Honda Pilot. Hence decided to ditch my Pilot and change to an older model GX470 - would like to keep my budget under $15k.

Having trouble deciding which year model to get. In 2005 the GX got few updates including a VVT-i engine and some NAV updates I think. One of my main requirements is to be able to play my audio from my phone through bluetooth through the vehicle sound system in addition to being able to talk handsfree using the car bluetooth. Seems like there were some electronics updates for the 2007 model year but I am not able to find any details on it. Did that add streaming audio from phone to car speakers via bluetooth? Can't find an answer to this. What other updates were there in the 2007 model? Is it worth putting extra cash for the 2007 model?