GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Complete noob oil question

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-17, 01:55 PM
Lukasteam
Driver School Candidate

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Complete noob oil question

Hi guy's , now to many this might sound like a complete noob question , but I really want your opinion . I'm looking at the first gen GX470 and the owner says that he oil changes were every 5K miles with conventional oil . He says thats what the Lexus calls for .
This really bothers because IMO conventional oil change intervals should be 3K miles .
....so should I be worried about longevity of the vehicle that ran 5K between the changes with conventional bottom of the barrel oil ?

Last edited by Lukasteam; 03-22-17 at 02:21 PM.
Old 03-22-17, 02:10 PM
ALAN553
Racer

Received 166 Likes on 144 Posts

5 K on conventional oil these days is SOP, that being said, many premium synthetic oils, Amsoil, Mobil 1 extended, along with synthetic media filter are good for 1 year or 15K. I adopted that schedule long ago, I've had 2 GX's. The first was an 04, sold it with 200K, never had to even add a at of oil in that 1 year interval, I usually did about 12K/year.
The following users liked this post:
Lukasteam (03-22-17)
Old 03-22-17, 02:13 PM
EddieK05
Pit Crew

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts

Yep, completely normal. I've been using Mobil1 synthetic in my Accord and GX470 and change it every 10K miles.
Lukasteam (03-22-17)
Old 03-22-17, 03:40 PM
DiabloX22
Pole Position

Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts