GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models
Old 12-12-14, 03:48 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Steering and Suspension
Print Wikipost

changing front shock absorber on GX470

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-14, 12:43 AM
Sdgx470
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default changing front shock absorber on GX470

It's my first time working on my 2005 GX470 to change the front shock absorber. Have some questions on how to correctly and safely change it. Would appreciate your advice on the following:

1) To remove the strut assembly, do I need to remove the sway/stabilizer bar?
2) I have already removed the lower strut bolt, but got stuck on the top part. Should I remove the absorber control actuator and its bracket first (by removing the two nuts at label #3 in the attached photo)? It's not easy to get to these nut and seems like it's round. What tool to use for removing #3? There are two #3s, how to remove the on in the back?
3) how to disconnect #4? Or I can leave it connected?
4) should I loosen nut #2 to help remove the strut or the actuator? Is this the one that is holding the spring in position and loosen it without using the spring compressor is dangerous?
5) Also, it's hard to reach the third nut in the back (labeled as 1 with dashed arrow). So have to remove the bracket first?

Thanks for your help.
Attached Thumbnails changing front shock absorber on GX470-photo.jpg  
Old 05-17-14, 08:16 AM
RCsGX
Lexus Champion

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by Sdgx470
It's my first time working on my 2005 GX470 to change the front shock absorber. Have some questions on how to correctly and safely change it. Would appreciate your advice on the following:

1) To remove the strut assembly, do I need to remove the sway/stabilizer bar?
-Yes.