GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Assist in purchase of GX470

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-14, 12:17 PM
greekguy66
Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Assist in purchase of GX470

Hello Everyone!

First time posting here. I'm a newbie for posting here so go ahead and beat me up.

I currently have a '98 4Runner and it has over 150K miles with no issues.
As much as it would be nice to get a newer 4Runner, I prefer the look and ride of the GX470 more. I'm looking to purchase a 2007-2009 soon.

I'm hoping I can get some advice to assist me with my purchase. I'm sorry if I'm asking some questions that may have been asked before, but I did try searching out the answers first before making this post.
  • Are there any issues or concerns anyone would have on purchasing a GX470 with over 100k miles other than maintenance?
  • It is difficult to find a used GX470 in my area with KDSS. For those that don't have it, are you happy with your ride regardless?
  • Even though the GX470 with KDSS may be preferred by many does it become one of those things that you can kick yourself for not getting one with? Or do you not think about it?
  • Can I expect the same reliability out of a GX470 as I have from a 3rd Generation 4Runner?
  • How long have you owned your GX470 for and how many miles does it have now?
  • I'm looking to put at least 100k miles on whatever GX470 I purchase. I tend to keep my rides for a long time. I thought of getting a GX460, but I prefer the look of the GX470 more.

Thanks ahead of time to your replies.

VK
Old 02-21-14, 12:58 PM
Lmcqueen
Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I just replaced 3rd gen T4R with the GX470, about 2 months ago... well, not really a 'replacement', since I'm still driving the 4Runner every day. (it's been a horrible winter here in Chicago area)
Welcome!

I haven't been hanging out here for too long, but seems like a great crowd.