GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

How to tell if 2004 GX470 had a towing prep package?

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-08, 05:36 PM
Tribeca
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to tell if 2004 GX470 had a towing prep package?

Hi all, Newbie here. We just purchased a 2004 GX last week (which I love!). We just noticed that the sticker said that it had a tow hitch but it doesn't. The sticker also says that the dealer is not responsible for inacuracies (probably a way of covering their a**es). My husband is worried that the techs might have taken the tow hitch because he once worked for a dealership and he said that sometimes techs steal parts of a used car while working on it before putting it on the lot.

Is there a way to know if the car had a towing prep package originally installed? Attached is a picture of the back of the car where the hitch would supposedly go.

Thanks in advance!

Name:  LexusGX470.jpg
Views: 4621
Size:  23.5 KB
Old 01-21-08, 06:23 PM
BurgBoxstr
Lead Lap

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

First off - welcome and congrats on your new to you GX!

Only way to know is if you have the original sticker. Now, if they sold it to you as having it, then insist they give it to you. Also know the towing "prep" kit and towing hitch are two separate things.

Tow prep is just the wiring harness. Look up under the rear bumper on the driver's side for a goofy L bracket bolted to the frame along w/ a 7 pin towing plug in it. It gets relocated to the hitch once installed.

You definitely do not have a hitch on there as the 2" receiver would be sticking out below the bumper cover trim (post 5/04 build IIRC) or sticking out through a notched center trim bumper cover.