GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

GX470 H11 Xenondepot kit installed DIY guide

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-04, 08:07 PM
Tony
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Lightbulb GX470 H11 Xenondepot kit installed DIY guide

This kit is so easy to install the hard thing was to find a place to route wires and anchor the ballasts. Total time with me documenting pics and etc was 1 hour and 15 minutes. If I had to do it again knowing the places now I could install the whole thing in 30 minutes easy. I am by no means a mechanic and cannot even change my own oil on these new cars anymore. I am not an electrician either on a scale of 1-5 with 5 being hardest to do, I would give this a 2. Lets start with the schematics.

here is the link to what the kit has and looks like
https://www.clublexus.com/forums/sho...hreadid=113918

As you can see on the schematics there are really three main parts to the kit:
Part 1
The biggest and most important part is the relay. The relay has wires to power both the ballasts one wire is longer than the other with the longer one for the passenger ballast and the shorter one for the driver side ballast. The relay also has the wire with OEM H11 connector which connects to the driver side OEM H11 harness. The final wire from the relay has a positive wire with a fuse that connects to the + terminal of the battery.

Part 2
The ballast has the power receptor for the power cables from the relay, has negative wires that run to the grounding points on the car and has wires that connect to the light bulbs.

Part 3
Light bulbs connect to the ballast
Attached Thumbnails GX470 H11 Xenondepot kit installed DIY guide-schematics.jpg  

Last edited by Tony; 04-07-04 at 10:40 AM.
Old 03-18-04, 08:10 PM
Tony
Lead Lap

Default Step 1