ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/)
-   GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/gs-4th-gen-2013-2020-237/)
-   -   How often do you balance your tires? (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/gs-4th-gen-2013-2020/896748-how-often-do-you-balance-your-tires.html)

swscott530 08-13-18 09:01 AM

How often do you balance your tires?

I'm new to Lexus ownership and was surprised when the Service Adviser recommended that I balance the tires only when there is a vibration. I have always balanced the tires when doing rotations, normally at 5K miles (or the vehicle recommended interval for rotation), as normal maintenace. Looking through the 2014 GS350 Service Manual, there is no mention of tire balancing...only rotations at 10K. Every other info source I find recommends balancing at frequent intervals (3K-6K).

Anyone know why Lexus does not recommend tire balancing at frequent intervals? How often do you balance?

bclexus 08-13-18 09:09 AM

I buy my tires at Discount Tire, and they do excellent work. They rotate my tires free-of-charge every 5,000 miles, which automatically includes re-balancing them on their Hunter GSP9700 Road Force Balancing machine.

peasodos 08-13-18 10:24 AM

Originally Posted by swscott530 (Post 10277896)
I'm new to Lexus ownership and was surprised when the Service Adviser recommended that I balance the tires only when there is a vibration. I have always balanced the tires when doing rotations, normally at 5K miles (or the vehicle recommended interval for rotation), as normal maintenace. Looking through the 2014 GS350 Service Manual, there is no mention of tire balancing...only rotations at 10K. Every other info source I find recommends balancing at frequent intervals (3K-6K).

Anyone know why Lexus does not recommend tire balancing at frequent intervals? How often do you balance?