Bumpy Ride

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-18, 08:18 PM
SFPeterHom
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bumpy Ride

Hello everyone,

I'm not sure if this question has been asked before and if anyone have a solution. It sounds like most of you, based on forum posts, prefer to lower the ride with springs/shocks/air suspension. I may be asking the wrong question here.

I'm actually looking for the opposite. Living here in the Bay Area with bumpy roads on the highways and the streets have taken a toll on my back. I have been driving my 2015 GS F sport for about 2 months now and most of the time, I'm on ECO mode. I should have done a test drive before purchase but I didn't. The reason I purchased the F sport was because of the leg extender option. I did test drive the ES and was ok with the ride but the seat wasn't comfy (no leg extender option). I also test drove the LS and almost fell asleep because of the comfort.

Why am I writing this post? I got a loaner ES350 today and I notice a drastic difference in ride comfort, not sure if it's because the ES doesn't have the sport plus mode/avs. It seems like the shocks on the ES absorbs most of the shock from the road so my back was rather comfy.

I don't know if there is a setting for the shocks on the GS to make the ride smoother/softer. If not, is it possible to swap out the factory shocks for the LS shocks or LS F sport shocks? Will they fit? I have a feeling the answer might be related to the sport plus/avs.

How about the other owners around here in the Bay Area? Am I the only one that feels this way?
Old 05-22-18, 08:24 PM
bb700092
Intermediate

Received 68 Likes on 55 Posts

Yes, the GS rides stiffer with more feedback from road imperfections than the ES and LS, especially if you have 19" wheels on the GS. You can swap the 19" wheels with 17" wheels with meatier tires which will immediately make the ride softer. But still it will not be as soft as ES or LS.
The following users liked this post: