GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) Discussion about the 2013 and up GS models

Traction Control SUX!

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-17, 08:07 AM
ThumbsUp
Driver School Candidate

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Traction Control SUX!

I think Traction Control is one of the most dangerous implementations of technology ever foisted upon the driving public.

This morning, I drop the kids off at school and attempt to make my way thru traffic to get to work. I have to make a left hand turn against a never ending stream of traffic coming from left and right. Finally, a small opening! I press the long pedal while modulating the brake with my left foot to control the chassis. And the f***ing Traction Control kicks in and kills the power, leaving me quaintly rolling thru the gap like a granny on her way to her Saturday morning hair appointment.

I have been building and racing road race cars for the last 40 years. I don't need nor want an electronic nanny slapping my wrist when the least little bit of wheel spin may occur. The art of left foot braking to control a chassis is far quicker and more efficient than the the electronics could ever be. Yeah, I know I could switch off the TC, but what a PITA it is to remember to do that every time I climb into the car. Whereas, my motor memory was programmed long ago and it's fully automatic.

I know a few years ago I bought a plug-in chip for a C5 Corvette to default to TC off at start-up. Anyone know of such an animal for the GS350?

Last edited by ThumbsUp; 04-11-17 at 11:19 AM.
Old 04-11-17, 08:34 AM
atoyota
Pole Position

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Do you mean foisted?

There's a button to turn it off. (page 312 of the manual). To turn off both TRAC and VSC, press and hold the button for more than 3 seconds. It doesn't turn back on until you turn it back on.

Button #1

Last edited by atoyota; 04-11-17 at 08:43 AM.
The following users liked this post:
alpha0M3G4 (04-11-17)
Old 04-11-17, 08:51 AM
ThumbsUp
Driver School Candidate