GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Checking the oil in the GS 350

Old 11-07-11, 03:14 PM
Mariusz232
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Checking the oil in the GS 350

Hey guys, so im new to the GS 350 and I have a question about how to check the oil. Not really a car guy either. I finally found the wand that was to the left of the engine. Cleaned it off and i put it back into its whole and then i pulled it out.. I could not see the oil very well so i moved under a light... there are two dots one is about an inch or so above the first.. I vaguely saw a film of oil covering both dots and maybe a quater inch above the higher dot? is there an issue?
Old 11-07-11, 04:28 PM
pqn628
Pole Position

Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts

Originally Posted by Mariusz232
Hey guys, so im new to the GS 350 and I have a question about how to check the oil. Not really a car guy either. I finally found the wand that was to the left of the engine. Cleaned it off and i put it back into its whole and then i pulled it out.. I could not see the oil very well so i moved under a light... there are two dots one is about an inch or so above the first.. I vaguely saw a film of oil covering both dots and maybe a quater inch above the higher dot? is there an issue?
The oil should be at or slightly above the top dot so you should be fine. Is the oil black or still golden? If its black, get it changed
Old 11-08-11, 05:48 AM
Mariusz232
Driver School Candidate

Hey thanks for the reply... it looks golden .I put it up to the light and its a litle above the top dot... I got it changed on wednesday and jsut making sure everything is okay.
Old 11-08-11, 06:26 AM
moose66
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts