GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Just changed from the 5 series to the new GS

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-05, 06:42 PM
Michael Ng
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just changed from the 5 series to the new GS

I have been a 5 series driver for a long time and just got my new GS300 two weeks ago. My impressions are these:

Pros:
The technology in this car is fantastic. I like the simplicity of the touch screen and its intuitive usage. I love the bluetooth which is a big improvement for me, it is very reliable and connects up everytime. I like the very smooth and comfortable drive and also the ML is great. The keyless start is also a very good implementation and a big step up for me. The car seems to anticipate everything I need from lighting up when I walk to the car, the turning on the headlights when it is dark, turning on the wiper when it rains, dimming the rear mirror when there is glare and I am finding out more everyday.

Cons:
I think overall handling is still not as good as the 5. I am used to heavier steering. I also find that it does not hug the road as well as the 5. This is especially so when I take corners at a high speed. The doors does not seem as heavy. I think that the 5 series styling is more distinctive. Other then that I cannot think of anything else.

Overall, I am a happy camper. It is a great car. For anyone who does not want to pay more for the perceived prestige of MB and BMW and get less value, I think this is the perfect car for a combination of ride comfort and luxury.
Old 04-05-05, 06:44 PM
LexFather

Originally Posted by Michael Ng
I have been a 5 series driver for a long time and just got my new GS300 two weeks ago. My impressions are these:

Pros: