ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/)
-   GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/gs-2nd-gen-1998-2005-184/)
-   -   Replace gs400 hid headlight units (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/gs-2nd-gen-1998-2005/913443-replace-gs400-hid-headlight-units.html)

Bobmeg1 03-07-19 05:36 PM

Replace gs400 hid headlight units

I'm no expert, need help: My '98 GS400's headlight units have yellowed to the point where I was considering replacing them. This is now become compulsory, as I was replacing the 2825 bulbs with LED194's, and one of the LED units dislodged itself from its socket INSIDE the headlight unit during reinsertion (that left side is a *****). So, I have to remove the unit anyway to get that loose LED out, may as well just replace/update both units. However, all of the replacement units up on Amazon from Seller/Mfr "ACANII" all have the denotation of "Not Compatible on Models w/ Factory HID Headlights", and I'm pretty sure my GS has HID's. I can't seem to find any HID-replacement units from other online sellers that don't seem to be exorbitantly marked up, and those all seem to be the same ACANII units for half the price on Amazon. Does anyone have any suggestions? Would like to stay under $175 for both units (no bulbs). Any assistance/advice would be appreciated. Thank you & regards.

firelizard 03-07-19 05:49 PM

You're unlikely to find HID lamps in good condition for that price. If I knew where such a thing were, I'd buy them myself immediately.
At $1,200/ea new from Lexus, even used sets are very expensive. Expect to spend closer to three or four hundred for a used pair with good clarity

Bobmeg1 03-07-19 06:06 PM