Steering Wheel - ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

Notices
GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Steering Wheel

Old 01-14-19, 06:59 AM
Bassysingh
Driver School Candidate

Default Steering Wheel

So, I'm brand new to this Lexus game, help me out here. I'll be asking a plethora of questions that I hope you all can help me with. Firstly, my steering wheel doesn't have the down buttons. 1) wth? 2) can I switch it for ones with the buttons without an issue? 3) has there been an updated solution to solve radio controls on these models?

Help a noob out if you can
Old 01-14-19, 08:41 AM
RVAGS400
Driver School Candidate

Assuming you either have a 98-00 GS300 or 01+ GS430. No, you can't just retrofit the steering wheel and have the buttons work. There are differences in the transmissions that allow the feature to work - shift solenoids primarily, I believe. Someone else may be able to comment on whether or not you could replace these solenoids and gain the functionality.

The 98-00 GS300 didn't have the e-shift capability I assume because the GS400 was considered the 'sporty' offering. I believe the GS430 lost the feature due to the car being certified as ULEV. At least the 430 got steering wheel audio controls that can't easily be added to any other model.
Old 01-14-19, 09:29 PM
Bassysingh
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by RVAGS400 View Post
Assuming you either have a 98-00 GS300 or 01+ GS430. No, you can't just retrofit the steering wheel and have the buttons work. There are differences in the transmissions that allow the feature to work - shift solenoids primarily, I believe. Someone else may be able to comment on whether or not you could replace these solenoids and gain the functionality.