GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Rough Idling for 2001 2nd gen GS300

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-15, 07:31 PM
scioni16
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rough Idling for 2001 2nd gen GS300

Hey guys I'm new to club Lexus, also this car is my first car. But for a long time it seems that my car bogs when I'm accelerating from a complete stop. Im thinking about getting the spark plugs replaced, I would do them myself but since I'm only 17 I'm not about to try to remove the throttle body myself and put it all back together. Also when I'm giving it gas to accelerate, if I do not give it more gas when it begins to bog, it will continue to bog even more then sometimes even sound like it backfires. Also when I'm traveling at my usual cruising speed and I come to a hard stop or a rapid stop the rpm's drop low and the car begins to vibrate. I've looked for threads with similar problems to mine and the only thing I've come close to is someone having this problem with a 98 gs4 with coil and what sounds like injection problems. Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!

P.s. also the car seems to have trouble shifting gears if it passes 4000 rpm when I'm giving it a decent amount of gas. Could replacing the tranny fluid help? Also the car has 186,xxx miles and has had the tranny replaced. Finally should I look into getting the throttle body, and injectors cleaned and the spark plugs done?

Thanks
-Justin

Last edited by scioni16; 10-22-15 at 07:43 PM. Reason: add information to my issue
Old 10-22-15, 10:36 PM
Mcon
Lexus Test Driver

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

scion16,
First, welcome to the club and sorry for jump in your thread, because this to issue start happen to me a few week already.