GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

GS 400 throwing codes, very nervous

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-14, 04:33 AM
wbmx1981
Advanced

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Originally Posted by DRealist
When I search the codes I saw all the threads about the issue and from what I got from what people were saying is that it isn't that big of a deal. That is why I am so thrown off by the mechanics telling me that I need a total transmission rebuild. Is that what was said to everyone who had this problem? I hope it is and they just misdiagnosed it. I guess I just need to find someone who is willing to try it. How hard is it to learn on the fly how to get the tranny out? I have never done anything like this before but I am thinking about it.

People that don't know WILL freak out because they don't know they assume the car is toast once you mention transmission. All you have to do is drain the transmission fluid, remove the pan, remove the transmission filter and the solenoid will be staring right at you. Any shop or mechanic will charge you a nut.
Old 07-02-14, 10:02 AM
aneidiaz
Lexus Test Driver

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

Originally Posted by wbmx1981
People that don't know WILL freak out because they don't know they assume the car is toast once you mention transmission. All you have to do is drain the transmission fluid, remove the pan, remove the transmission filter and the solenoid will be staring right at you. Any shop or mechanic will charge you a nut.
EXACTLY Don't freak out man. Just read on here until you can't anymore. I'm sure you'll find a way to get your problem solved WITHOUT going to the STEALERSHIP BEST OF LUCK I HOPE YOUR ISSUES GET RESOLVED
Old 07-02-14, 11:57 AM
bonesnj0
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would drop pan then test each solenoid i believe that code is for a specific solenoid replace that one.
Better to learn how to do this then to take it to someone.