GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

2GS Stock Subwoofer Replacement w/ pics

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-11, 02:11 PM
HpyFunBall
Driver School Candidate

Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts
Post 2GS Stock Subwoofer Replacement w/ pics

I needed to replace the blown stock sub on my '03, and took a few pictures along the way to help anyone else who needs to do this as well.

I tried to focus on the parts that aren't as obvious the first time you do it. A few notes:
- The project took me about 3 hours, because I am was going very slow since I am good at hitting my paint/tint/leather with sharp objects when I rush.
- I have seen some minor differences in the back deck on different 2GS's, but mine is a '03 430 Navi if it matters.
- I am fairly new to CLF, but the best way I found to attach photos puts them at the bottom of the post, so they are numbered to match the basic instructions below.
- The only tools I needed were a flat head screwdriver, hammer, socket wrench and extension with 12mm (for seats) and 10mm (sub) sockets.
- My local dealer wanted roughly $350 for the sub, and $300 to install. I decided to go with stock as it is decent and I didn't want to tackle the custom amp, brackets, etc. others have done, and NPR doesn't need that much bass (yes, i'm old). Oh, and $300 to install a sub seemed crazy to me, so here we go:
  1. 1 - Remove the seat by pulling up on the seat next to the red circled clips then pulling forward after those are loose.
  2. 2 - The back of the seat has four bolts holding it at the bottom (circled), you do not need to remove the seat belt system, so leave those alone. It is a LOT easier to work around the belts than to remove and reinstall them.
  3. 3 - Push up the headrests and pull up the flap to expose the nuts holding the top of the seat to the car.
  4. 4 - Now you can pull up slightly and push the seat forward.