GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

lexus dealership and programming key

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-08, 09:13 AM
dinero718
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post lexus dealership and programming key

I lost my master key for my 01 gs 430 and i've been riding around with my wallet key. I finally bought a master key from sewell lexus, i took it to my local bay ridge lexus dealership and they tried to program it. they come the rep comes back to me and says the computer in the car is not taking the key the computer keeps saying error. the farthest they got with the key was getting the remote part to unlock doors but they couldnt get it to start the car. now they say i need new computer which is 1500, new set of keys almost 3 n change plus i have to pay for 2 hours of labor. I am a broke college student , can anyone give me any options with another route to go if theres any?
Old 03-26-08, 09:15 AM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 78 Likes on 60 Posts

How many master keys did you have at the time? The new key should be synchronized with a master key. I dont know if it's going to work with a valet key. Haven't tried that yet.
Old 03-26-08, 09:22 AM
neuspedgti
Driver School Candidate

i think if you've lost all the master keys a new master key cannot be programmed without replacing the ecu. but if the ecu has never been replaced before then lexus should cover the cost of the ecu and you only pay the labor
Old 03-26-08, 10:09 AM
ocean350
Driver

without a master key.....it will be costly....(most likely u need a new ecu)
(that's why i got a 2nd master as soon as i can)
Old 03-26-08, 12:06 PM
tajdog
Driver School Candidate

Just bought RX300 with just the master key. Should I go ahead and get a backup? Sounds like potential disaster if I lose the only one. Is there no other way, other than going through authorized dealer? Thanks, Taj.
Old 03-26-08, 12:38 PM
tnbigdawg
Driver